There is not that on the croisette, that we speak ciné!

The 70 edition of the Cannes Film Festival opened yesterday. Many films are in competition until 28 next May. On this occasion, we asked the students of 2e and 3e Year which made a good movie poster. Decryption ...

Charles (3e year)

"An impressive poster is a 50-50 between a strong message and a beautiful image. Then, in the cinema, there are codes that emerge. Either we put forward the text or the visual. To illustrate, in romantic comedies, we will put forward a couple with a text in pink and probably a third
Person to hold the candle. In musicals, we will play on the typo and try to represent music through letters. In Science Fiction, the image or key figures will be more important. This is the case in the saga "Star Wars" or in "Prometheus". The color will then depend on the emotions that one wishes to put into the film.
Personally, I tend to like the old classics that do not go out of style, like "Bullitt" with Steve McQueen. Lately, it is the repetitive "Alien: Covenant" communication, all over Paris, that caught my attention. A dark visual with just a tip of green. Simple and efficient !


Hélène (2e year)

"A good poster is a question of color, typo and atypical elements to find in the characters or the composition of the landscapes. It is also important to depict the most present emotions and to offer an unexpected visual reading to the viewer. I think of "First Contact" of the Canadian, Denis Villeneuve. There are no explosions or headliners. But there are questions. We are challenged by the impressive side that emerges from the image. Otherwise, you need a strong typo like "Orange Mechanics", or the yellow and black simplicity of Stanley Kubrick's poster for "The Shining. "


Louise (3e year)

"For me, it is a typo a little stylish, hand-worked with a superb illustration instead of a simple photo. Tim Burton's film, "Mars Attacks! "Is perfectly representative of my purpose. Very colorful with a typo in volume coming to accentuate the absurd side of the film and the characters. The mixture becomes cool. "


Benoît (2e year)

"A strong concept. The posters that we remember are the ones we explain in one or two words. Take "Teeth of the Sea", we have a shark and a chick. It's super simple and efficient. After that, it also depends on the genre of the film. In Kubrick's classic, "2001: the Space Odyssey", the poster by its symmetry translates the grandiose, the mystical and the existential theory instilled by the director in his film. But it's complex. You have to see the film to better understand the poster. More popular movies will feature characters or universes like the Star Wars saga. Personally, I would have loved to create the first "Alien" poster with this egg plunged into the darkness. It translates the mystery. Plunged into the dark, one wonders on the head of this alien.
Simple but perfect. "



Susie (3e year)

"This is a perfect dosage between giving visual or content indications without revealing too much. A bit like in the pub. The True Detective series in monochrome, very simple with one or two super stylish strokes comes to mind. Another creative poster idea, where Johnny Depp's pixelated defragmented head illustrates the thriller "Transcendence." A little kitch but nice! "


Chloe (2e year)

"The poster should not say too much. It must leave room for imagination. Not like in American romantic comedies or by reading the title we already know the end. The color universe also plays an important role in determining the genre of the film. As in "Lion" of the Australian, Garth Davis. The subject is serious. The poster two simple images but with bright colors giving body and making emotions pass. "


Maxime (3e year)

"The simplicity of the" Eight Bastards "realized by Quentin Tarantino comes to mind. The poster represents the perfect synthesis of the film. Without even having seen it, one is able to decipher the universe in which one is going to dive. A good poster sells the film and makes you want to go to the cinema. "

Y a pas que sur la croisette, qu’on parle ciné !

La 70ème édition du Festival de Cannes s’est ouverte hier. De nombreux films sont en compétition jusqu’au 28 mai prochain. A cette occasion, nous avons demandé aux étudiants de 2e et 3e année ce qui faisait une bonne affiche de film. Décryptage…

Charles (3e année)

«  Une affiche impactante, c’est un 50-50 entre un message fort et une belle image. Ensuite, au cinéma, il y a des codes qui se dessinent. Soit on met en avant le texte, soit le visuel. Pour schématiser, dans les comédies romantiques, on va mettre en avant un couple avec un texte en rose et probablement une tierce
personne pour tenir la chandelle. Dans les comédies musicales, on va jouer sur la typo et tenter de représenter la musique au travers des lettres. Dans la Science Fiction, l’image ou les personnages phares vont être plus importants. C’est le cas dans la saga « Star Wars » ou dans « Prometheus ». La couleur va ensuite dépendre des émotions que l’on souhaite faire passer dans le film.
Perso, j’ai tendance à aimer les vieux classiques qui ne se démodent pas, comme « Bullitt » avec Steve McQueen. Dernièrement, c’est la communication répétitive « d’Alien: Covenant », partout dans Paris, qui a retenu mon attention. Un visuel sombre avec juste une pointe de vert. Simple et efficace !


Hélène (2e année)

« Une bonne affiche, c’est une question de couleur, de typo et d’éléments atypiques à trouver dans les personnages ou la composition des paysages. Il est important aussi de dépeindre les émotions les plus présentes et d’en proposer une lecture visuelle inattendue au spectateur. Je pense à « Premier Contact » du Canadien, Denis Villeneuve. Il n’y a pas d’explosions ou de têtes d’affiche. Mais on se pose des questions. On est interpelés par le côté impressionnant qui se dégage de l’image. Sinon, il faut une typo forte comme celle « d’Orange Mécanique », ou la simplicité jaune et noire du poster de Stanley Kubrick pour « The Shining. »


Louise (3e année)

« Pour moi, c’est une typo un peu stylée, travaillée à la main avec une superbe illustration au lieu d’une simple photo. Le film de Tim Burton, « Mars Attacks! », représente parfaitement mon propos. Très coloré avec une typo en volume venant accentuer le côté absurde du film et des personnages. Le mélange en devient cool. »


Benoît (2e année)

« Un concept fort. Les posters dont on se souvient sont ceux qu’on explique en un ou deux mots. Prenons « Les Dents de la Mer », on a un requin et une nana. C’est super simple et efficace. Après, cela dépend aussi du genre du film. Dans le classique de Kubrick,« 2001 : l’odyssée de l’espace », l’affiche par sa symétrie traduit le grandiose, le mystique et la théorie existentielle insufflée par le réalisateur dans son film. Mais c’est complexe. Il faut voir le film pour mieux comprendre l’affiche. Des films plus grand public vont, eux, mettre en avant des personnages ou des univers comme avec la saga « Star Wars ». Personnellement, j’aurai adoré créer la première affiche « d’ Alien » avec cet œuf plongé dans l’obscurité. Elle traduit le mystère. Plongé dans le noir, on s’interroge sur la tête de cet extra-terrestre.
Simple mais parfait. »



Susie (3e année)

« Il s’agit d’un dosage parfait entre donner des indications visuelles ou de contenu sans trop en révéler. Un peu comme dans la pub. Me vient à l’esprit l’affiche de la série « True Detective », en monochrome, très simple avec un ou deux traits super stylés. Une autre idée d’affiche pleine de créativité, celle où la tête défragmentée, pixélisée, de Johnny Depp illustre le thriller « Transcendence. Un peu kitch mais chouette !»


Chloé (2e année)

« L’affiche ne doit pas trop en dire. Elle doit laisser une place à l’imagination. Pas comme dans les comédies romantiques américaines ou en lisant le titre l’on connait déjà la fin. L’univers coloriel joue aussi un rôle important pour déterminer le genre du film. Comme dans « Lion » de l’Australien, Garth Davis. Le sujet est sérieux. Le poster deux simples images mais avec des couleurs lumineuses donnant du corps et faisant passer des émotions. »


Maxime (3e année)

« La simplicité des « Huit salopards » réalisé par Quentin Tarantino me vient à l’esprit. L’affiche représente la synthèse parfaite du film. Sans même l’avoir vu, on est capable de déchiffrer l’univers dans lequel on va plonger. Une bonne affiche vend le film et donne envie d’aller au cinéma. »